Constructed in 1948 as a curing warehouse for tobacco giant Philip Morris, the two-story steel shed was considered an annex addition to the existing 1916 dry-goods warehouse next door. The buildings had various lives over the next half century, but in 2002 Baskervill returned, enclosing the alley between the two buildings with a glass atrium and creating a dramatic 40-foot entrance on the 15th Street side. Located in Richmond’s Shockoe Slip Historic District, the building’s corrugated steel sheathing was considered a unique building material for the nearly all-brick neighborhood. Since 2003 Baskervill has called the two-building complex, now known as Canal Crossing, home. Our neighbors include Bon Secours, Spurrier Media Group, 7 Hills, WorldView Solutions and others.
The warehouse’s original maple hardwood floors, steel columns, and wood ceiling are all exposed and intact in Baskervill’s space today.